

GUYANA PRESS ASSOCIATION 312 East Street, South Cummingsburg, Georgetown Mobile: 600-4949 | Email: guyanapressexecutive1945@gmail.com

## GPA's Statement on Minister Ramjattan's hostility towards the media

The Guyana Press Association condemns in the strongest possible terms the verbal attacks on its Executive Member Mr Denis Chabrol and fellow journalists by Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan.

Based on official complaints by two of our members against Minister Ramjattan, it was noted that our members and journalists were verbally abused - one, Mr Chabrol, on the phone and in person. The verbal abuse continued later on Wednesday, February 28th 2018 in the presence of members of the media. This is as members of the media sought to interview Mr Ramjattan on a topical issue at the farewell parade of the outgoing Commissioner of Police.

The Guyana Press Association calls on Minister Ramjattan to apologise to our members and also calls on His Excellency, President David Granger to remind his Cabinet that journalists play a major role in this growing democracy of ours and should be allowed to do their jobs without fear or hindrance.

The GPA remains committed to ensuring that its members remain respectful in their trade but this is becoming increasingly difficult when dealing with some Ministers of Government and public officials.

1st March, 2018

President - Nazima Raghubir | Vice President - Zoisa Fraser | Secretary - Svetlana Abrams Treasurer - Fareeza Haniff | Assistant Secretary/Treasurer - Royden James Executive Members: Denis Chabrol, Ariana Gordon, Rawle Toney